“Taxis are a luxury.”

Yeah, taxi rides really are a poshy way to get around, but I’m actually glad that there’s someone I can hire to drive me to and fro when I have no one else.

See, my ride for the past 6 months has finally called a stop to the lifts. She wanted her own country roads and didn’t feel like going into town anymore. As of this month. She told me midway through August.

Argh.

Anyway.

For half a month, I was alright. I paid another coworker $50 and he drove me back and forth. It worked out. But now he’s gone. And my backup plan, well, he’s on vacation until Thursday.

Which has landed me in the lap of luxury. Taxi’s every friggin day for a week. This has led me to a lot of experimentation in terms of transportation. So far, I’ve figured out a combination of public transport and taxi. The bus is $2 and the taxi is $15.

Bus picks me up at 6:27, drops me off at the closest stop at 6:50. Taxi picks me up and 7 minutes later, drops me off at work. At $34 a day in transportation fees, it’s the best I can do. And thankfully, work has agreed to allow me to start an hour later (8:30am) so that I don’t have to stand around at the bus stop for an hour on the way back (the bus isn’t a common one). Thus I save $8 by not taking the other route.

No funds to buy a car. Too freaked out by the dump trucks on the country roads to take the bike. Really wishing the office would just move already.

Hopefully, when my backup comes back to work, we can work out something, because I’m hemorrhaging cash–How’s that for a lovely picture. Now, if only I could keep some of that.

Technically, if I really wanted to bleed to keep money… I’d take the hour walk. Something easily said in the summer months–but winter is coming. And Abbotsford gets a lot of snow.

So. We’ll see how this goes!

In the silver-lining department, we have two sales guys starting in the next few weeks. Both of them look very promising so hopefully that will get us the money to friggin move soon!

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.